More To Life

Hey guys! I’m starting a new segment on my blog called Let’s Break it Down(LBID). In this segment, I will analyze the meaning behind my favorite songs, albums, poems, books and movies. Today I will look at one of my favorite songs of all time, “More to Life(There’s Gotta Be). Ahhhhh the childhood nostalgia is hitting me already……Can you feel it? Alright, let me stop being a dork and begin.

Stats/Fast Facts:
From Stacie Orrico’s Sophomore Album Stacie Orrico(2003)
#30 on the BB Hot 100
Writer(s)- Stacie Orrico, Damon Thomas, Harvey Mason Jr., Kadish, Sabelle Breer

Stacie Orrico Album
This 2003 classic is one of those songs you hear when you’re really young and you think “Boy, this song is catchy. The singing is good and the beat is really awesome.” You hear it but you don’t try to understand it because you don’t care. Well, that changes when you get older. “More to Life(There’s Gotta Be) was huge when I was I child. I heard the song everywhere and it stuck(another one of Orrico’s biggest hits but that’s another post). Recently, I started listening to Orrico’s discography and this song hit me like a brick. I listened to it after taking a test and I started crying. I thought, there’s got to be more to life than me crying over a grade. Am I more than this? I mean education is very important but my identity can’t be wrapped up in a grade. My intelligence can’t just be defined by my education. There has to be more. There just has to be more. Anyway enough of my personal sob stories. Let’s finally break it down!


“I’ve got it all, but I feel so deprived
I go up, I come down and I’m emptier inside
Tell me what is this thing that I feel like I’m missing
And why can’t I let go.”

Many people possess many material riches, but where are their mental, emotional, spiritual riches? What is having it all? We need to redefine success. In my opinion, happiness is success. You can have all the money, wealth, power, and fame in the world but are you really happy? How many of us are really happy? A lot of us want more but what is more? A lot of us strive to be impressive and show off because we think that is what life is about but we know that there is more to life than that. Why don’t we strive to make more of impact instead of just simply striving to be impressive? Our impact is our legacy when you really put it in to perspective. I know that’s something I think about everyday. Am I living live to just impress everyone and show off or am I living life to impact and help everyone around me? Am I living live to impress myself or am I leaving a positive impact on myself so I myself have good things to say about my legacy.

“There’s gotta be more to life
Than chasing down every temporary high to satisfy me
‘Cause the more that I’m
Tripping out thinking there must be more to life
Well it’s life, but I’m sure, there’s gotta be more
Than wanting more.”

A lot of us things chase things that aren’t permanent. We chase them because in the moment, they feel good. In the moment, they empower us but shouldn’t we seek eternal empowerment? Ya know things that will empower us forever…….
What are we chasing? What are we seeking? These are not an easy questions but we must ask them because we need to come up with the answers. We need to see where we are in life. We do not need perfect answers because we are not perfect and we are still works in progress.

“I’ve got the time and I’m wasting it slowly
Here in this moment I’m half way out the door
Onto the next thing, I’m searching for something that’s missing….”

I’m the queen of procrastination. I often get distracted easily and I waste time. Sometimes, I often procrastinate due to fear. I’m the queen of stalling and trying to kill time. It’s a very real thing and its something I’m currently working on. Why do we waste time? Are we scared of tackling things head on? Are we just lazy or are we just bored? We are constantly searching for new things to satisfy our life cravings. We crave constant stimulation but how satisfying is that stimulation? Why are we constantly moving from one thing to the next? We still search for that something. We still search for happiness.

“Than waiting on something other than this
Why am I feelin’ like there’s something I missed?”

This is where boredom strikes. Do you just love it? We become unsatisfied with temporary highs and quick fixes and we want more. We want more because we try to live lives that impress people and ignite envy. Why don’t we change our definition of more?

Verdict: The message in this song is what makes timeless. Orrico and co-writers struck gold with this one. (There’s Gotta Be) More to Life resonates with all ages. What is more? How to we define it? How can we find it?

 

Judge gavel

 

Ta-ta for now! This is an open discussion so feel free to comment and/or answer the questions I posed!

 

 

 

 

 

